SOME COOL MOVIES…

Posted: July 8, 2010 in Culture, God
Tags: , , , , , ,

How often do you rent a movie and force yourself to sit through it or pop it out half way through and take it back ’cause it was bad? Then sometimes you just hit a winning streak: The last few movies we’ve watched have been great. Here’s what we saw and how they hit me:

Book of Eli was awesome. I’ve always liked Denzel Washington and heard about his faith, but it hasn’t been clear in his films. This one, a story about a post-apocalyptic world, really moved me as I watched him fight and struggle his way towards the west, where God himself had called him to go. It was great to see him quote the Bible in situations and have the Word so alive in him. The whole premise was really good and different, and the film really delivers at the end. I recommend it heartily, especially if you’re a believer!

Spanglish is an “older” film. I say older, since it came out a few years ago, and in Hollywood things seem to have an average life span of a fly… I’m not a big Sandler fan, but this hit me hard. It was amazing to see all the makings of a dying marriage, affairs and new love without any hint at what it would do to kids and other family. Instead, I saw two adults totally infatuated, but instead choosing to not hurt others at the cost of their “falling in love.” Wow, I was dumbfounded! When has that ever happened before in films?

And last but not least, I got the Avatar DVD for Father’s Day, thanks, wifey! We saw it in IMAX and liked it, but after watching it again I caught something cool. The goddess Eywa hears Jake Sully’s prayer and whups some serious butt against the enemies by bringing on the cavalry… I mean animals. All of a sudden I got a perfect glimpse of what it’s going to be like at the end of days, when all the power of this world and the enemy attack God, and He defeats them fully, finally and completely. It was an incredible image of the power of God, which reminds me of this: If God created the Universe and everything in it, how much greater is the Creator than the creation… Wow.

Leave a comment