12 YEARS AND STILL GOING STRONG…

Posted: August 17, 2010 in Family
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Yesterday was our 12th anniversary. Man, 12th… Rarely do you realize how fast time flies until it is gone. It has been an amazing ride. After getting married in Finland on August 15th, 1998, we moved to California the very next month. It has affected our marriage in many ways, as we haven’t had family close and are only able to see some of them, and only once or twice a year. It has made our marriage stronger, as we’ve had to make things work in a new country by the two of us. I remember struggling through the legal immigration process – for the first years Uncle Sam basically wanted me here working and paying taxes, while my wife would have had to wait in Finland for 3.5 years, and all this in the very beginning of our marriage! It seems to be easier to move here illegally than legally. There’s definitely something wrong with that picture…

During the years, I’ve worked and led worship, written worship songs, and seen my wife turn from a fresh immigrant to an incredible mom of two and a part-time working dietitian with a degree from Cal State LA. I am so proud of her, as she worked the 4AM shift at Starbucks to pay for her tuition and books! Both of our kids (Miro, now 4, and Tea, now 1,5) were born here at a hospital just a quarter mile away from our place. They are such a joy in our lives and make our family complete! I watch my wife take care of them with such love, and it fills my heart with joy.

When I was younger, I remember thinking that marriage and kids weren’t for me. Then I met God and my future wife, and they changed everything. God helped me drop all the insane ideas I had about life and marriage, and my wife made it really easy to propose – she is hot!  😀  Today, after 12 years, I honestly think that God created us all for marriage and for relationships, because they make us better people. In my marriage, I get blessed, challenged, stretched and nurtured in ways that I never did in my single years. I am having the greatest adventure of my life, and after 12 years, I am still madly in love with my wife!

Comments
  1. the brewers says:

    i love that wife of yours, too! she IS hot! 🙂 congrats petri and karo!!! love k

  2. Karen Miller says:

    You guys are incredible! What a beautiful wedding photo! Congrats on 12 years!

Leave a Reply

