Look at me, daddy!

It’s been a few weeks since Father’s Day, but what happened to us is so huge that it deserves to be blogged: Our  son Miro got saved just before his 5th birthday on Friday, June 17th!

Miro always wanted to hear stories of Spider-Man, Iron Man or other superheroes of the day, but a couple of months earlier he all of a sudden started asking for “Jesus stories.” Having read the Bible for years, I found myself racking my brain to remember the details, but still succeeded to tell the stories to him fairly accurately. On that special night, when the story was done, he simply said, “I just love Jesus.” My heart stopped and I was filled with amazement and awe. I asked, “You know, if you really do, you can do something about it. Would you like to pray and ask Jesus to come into your heart?” He simply replied, “Yes.” Then we prayed the sinner’s prayer, and our lives changed forever.

As a father, I try my best to show my faith to my kids, wife and others. Still, how they pick up on it is a total mystery to me. I remember talking to our kid’s pastor at church as I was concerned about Miro’s faith. She gave me the greatest reply, “It’s not a matter of if but when.” I was filled with instant peace and left my son’s faith to God while doing what I sensed was right on my part. It felt awesome.

At the end of the day, what happened was the result of many important things in Miro’s life. He sees the faith of dad and mom in action every day, goes to church every Sunday and hangs out in our small group with adults and other kids every week. He goes to a pre-school where Jesus is a part of life through the year. On top of this, his best friend believes in Jesus. The two of them have so much fun together and are inseparable whenever they get together. They remind me of David and Jonathan, and God used Miro’s best friend to introduce him to Jesus. I want to thank our church and everyone involved for showing my son the way to God, his life will never be the same!

Only God can do such things, and to top it off, He started giving me a new song that same morning. Titled “Sound of Celebration”, it is about the joy that erupts in heaven every time a person puts their faith in Jesus. I had written the first verse and chorus before noon:

You were there when all was made
Hear how all creation sings
A beautiful song of praise to You

Let the sound fill every space
Let it ring out from our hearts
All the world will hear of Jesus’ name

We bring our joy to you

You’re the One we celebrate
You have given us this day
We lift up Your precious name
Lord Jesus

You’re the One that we live for
You have opened up the door
Now we hear the sound of celebration

Little did I know that the same night I would finish the song based on sharing my own son’s salvation!

Our salvation comes from you
You give it to the humble heart
Calling out Your name, You set us free

All of heaven sings so loud
Giving glory to the One
For the soul that only You can save

We bring our joy to you
We bring our joy to you

You’re the One we celebrate
You have given us this day
We lift up Your precious name
Lord Jesus

You’re the One that we live for
You have opened up the door
Now we hear the sound of celebration

(c) 2011 WaterWalk Music / Petri Nauha

So now this “Sound of Celebration” echoes in our hearts as our firstborn has entered God’s Kingdom. I can hardly wait to see what God has in store for his life, I am so proud to be his dad.

Comments
  1. betty bollier says:

    Beautiful Petri Love the song! Love that Miro has open his heart to Jesus! God IS SO FAITHFUL! Blessings, Betty Bollier

Leave a Reply

