Riffing it up

It’s just an absolute joy to keep working on a new worship CD. The awesome thing is that God is pouring more and more songs each day, there are now about a dozen songs in different stages of writing and arranging for the next CD! I can’t wait to share these songs, many of them are being used at our church and have brought people closer to Jesus, I’m so pumped!

We are moving forward in batches of three songs, the first batch has the songs “Let Freedom Reign”, “God of Heaven” and “You’re My Everything.” They each have a very distinct and different personality, which makes it a lot of fun to record them. I wanted to share my excitement through some photos, so here goes. After getting awesome live drum tracks from Kirke tracked at his studio and tracking bass at home, I brought the gear to church to record electric guitars. The two first songs were tracked there, thanks for the support, guys!

Electric setup at CVCC

After doing this a few times on my own – carrying gear, engineering, playing and recording, I was ready to pray for some HELP! Two days after praying, I met Mike & Linda Claxton at the local St. Arbucks, and lo and behold, they opened the doors of their studio 3 minutes from my door! God is true, my friends!

With Mike Claxton at the studio

Aside of being so kind and a blessing, Mike and Linda are two hilarious Brits with an incredible and quirky sense of humor. Mike has already hooked me up watching Fawlty Towers (with John Cleese) and eating a British dessert, whose name shall be left on a need to know basis. Ask me for it if you dare! Here’s something sad but true from the studio:

Sign of the Times

It has been fun to play rhythm parts, leads, eBow (Thanks, Kevin!) and slide on these songs, they are musically really cool with lots of detail and finesse…

Tracking Electrics at Mike's Studio

Up next, preparing all the guitar recordings, then jumping to Kirke’s studio to track acoustic guitars, vocals and background vocals. Then it’s time for mixing and preparing a release! We will put out the first three songs, then keep recording and releasing more until a whole CD’s worth is done. Stay tuned!

Comments
  1. Betty Bollier says:

    Awesome Petri!!!!!!!!!!!! Love, Betty

  2. Petri Nauha says:

    Slowly but surely… It is sounding amazing, I’m really blessed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

